Caribbean Credit Unions: Some Research Questions

Main Article Content

Glenn A. Khan


It is generally believed that Jamaica gave birth to the first Caribbean credit union. From there the movement spread far and wide, and today there is a presence in perhaps every territory. In the context of the international credit union system, the regional umbrella body for Caribbean credit unions is the Caribbean Confederation of Credit Unions (CCCCU). This grouping comprises countries from the Anglophone Caribbean, excluding Guyana, and includes countries such as the Dominican Republic, Haiti, The Netherland Antilles, the Cayman Islands and Bermuda. CARICOM members, Guyana, Suriname and Belize are grouped within the Latin American region. For the purposes of this short paper the CCCU countries are the subject of investigation.

Article Details

Author Biography

Glenn A. Khan, Regulated Industries Commission of Trinidad and Tobago

Deputy Executive Director